Jonathan How and Marija Ilic elected to NAE

Article Author

Date Published

February 12, 2021

Link to Original Article

MIT News

Three MIT researchers are among the 106 new members and 23 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." 

The three elected this year include: 

Jonathan Patrick How, Richard Cockburn Maclaurin Professor, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for contributions to decision-making and control of intelligent autonomous aerospace vehicles.

Marija Ilic, senior research scientist, Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems, for contributions to electric power system analysis and control.

David Perreault, Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for contributions to power electronics technology and design techniques for very high-frequency energy conversion.

Including this year’s inductees, 145 members of the NAE are current or retired members of the MIT faculty and staff, or members of the MIT Corporation.

Reprinted with permission of MIT News.