Security of Cyberphysical Systems

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 4:00pm to Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 3:55pm

Event Calendar Category

LIDS Seminar Series

Speaker Name

P. R. Kumar


Texas A&M University

Building and Room number



The coming decades may see the large-scale deployment of networked cyber-physical systems to address global needs in areas such as energy, water, healthcare, and transportation. However, as recent events have shown, such systems are vulnerable to cyber-attacks. We begin by revisiting classical linear systems theory, developed in more innocent times, from a security conscious, even paranoid, viewpoint. Then we present a general technique, called "dynamic watermarking," for detecting any sort of malicious activity in networked systems of sensors and actuators. We present an experimental demonstration of this technique on a laboratory version of a prototypical intelligent transportation system, and a simulation study of defense against an attack on Automatic Gain Control (AGC) in a synthetic four area power system.


[Joint work with Bharadwaj Satchidanandan, Woo Hyun Ko, Le Xie and Tong Huang].


Dr. P. R. Kumar’s current focus includes cyber-physical systems, cybersecurity, privacy, 5G, wireless networks, renewable energy, smart grid, autonomous vehicles, and unmanned air vehicle systems. He obtained a B.Tech. in Electrical Engineering (Electronics) from IIT Madras, and D.Sc. in Systems Science and Mathematics from Washington University, St. Louis, in 1973 and 1977. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, The World Academy of Sciences, and the Indian National Academy of Engineering. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by ETH, Zurich. He has received the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems, the Donald Eckman Award of American Automatic Control Council, the Fred Ellersick Prize of IEEE Communications Society, the Outstanding Contribution Award of ACM SIGMOBILE, the Infocom Achievement Award, and a SIGMOBILE Test-of-Time Paper Award. He is a Fellow of IEEE and ACM Fellow. He was Leader of the Guest Chair Professor Group on Wireless Communication and Networking at Tsinghua University and is a Gandhi Distinguished Visiting Professor at IIT Bombay, and Honorary Professor at IIT Hyderabad. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Madras, the Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis, and the Daniel Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from College of Engineering, University of Illinois.