Tamara Broderick awarded membership in 2021 COPSS Leadership Academy

July 1, 2021

Tamara Broderick, Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, an IDSS Affiliate Faculty member, LIDS Affiliate Member, Core Faculty of SDSC, and member of MIT CSAIL, was made a member of the 2021 Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) Leadership Academy.

Prof. Broderick received the award in recognition of her significant contributions to Bayesian nonparametrics and machine learning, as well as her leadership in the field of statistical science and her potential to help shape and strengthen its future.

The award is jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), Eastern and Western Regions of the International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC). They represent a discipline-wide acknowledgment of the outstanding contributions of statisticians, regardless of their affiliations with any professional society. Learn more about the award here.

Prof. Broderick’s research has focused on developing and analyzing models for scalable Bayesian machine learning, as well as developing new machine learning methods that can quantify uncertainty in complex data analysis problems, and scale to modern, large data sets.

Prof. Broderick’s previous awards include the Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching at MIT (2020), the School of Engineering Junior Bose Award (2019), an AISTATS Notable Paper Award (2019), an NSF CAREER Award (2018) and a Sloan Research Fellowship (2018), among others. She completed her Ph.D. in Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley in 2014.